BE YOUR BEST SELF - how do i love me

So, How Do I Love Mee? First Define The Ways - Be Your Best Self - A Daily Practice To Silence Your Inner Critic

Laura Mariani

ThePeopleAlchemist Edit: Be your best self - #SmashYourCeiling, change starts from within -Business & Lifestyle Experimentation for #TheWomanAlchemist

So, how do I love me? First, define the ways. Yesterday we talked about how the poem "How do I love thee? Let me count the ways" by Elizabeth Barret Browning is a great example of the countless ways we can show and feel love for someone. The-I-love-you-no-matter-what kind. Beyond Self-acceptance and Self-appreciation. But how do we do that?


To move beyond Self-appreciation and know how to love ourself, truly deeply, we first need to define what is love FOR us. What makes us feel loved. Love is a language and you (me, everybody) need to understand how we communicate in this language. Think about it: it's the same way as speaking any language. If you are trying to communicate with someone who doesn't speak English for example, speaking very S-L-O-W-L-Y and very -L-O-U-D-L-Y is not really going to make a difference. Ditto with communicating love. Let me give you another example. When you first fall in love with someone, you use the full spectrum of possibilities, you are trying to have the other person love you back after all. You tell them, show them, touch them and so on. But after you are in the stable relationship you wanted, slowly you (me, everybody) revert to your own way of showing love (which ultimately is how you receive love). It is not that you do not love the person anymore or any less, you have simply reverted to what's comfortable. After all, it can be exhausting talking continuously in another language if not innate. For you, you are showing lots of love. Your partner, on the other hand, might not be "feeling it". Or vice-versa. The phrase "you don't bring flowers anymore" comes to mind. So the first step is to define what is love for you and what makes you feel loved. Today, stop and think about it. Not what you like. But what really makes you feel loved. Now, would be a good time ... ;-) See you tomorrow and we can count the ways ... x


"The 5 Love Languages" by Gary Chapman. In this #1 New York Times bestseller Chapman shows in practical ways the different ways to give and receive love to experience deeper and richer levels of intimacy with your partner. For me, it is a great book to show you how you show and receive love to have a deeper and richer level of intimacy with yourself. Available on Amazon. Change starts from within; that’s why training your consciousness should be your Priority Numero 1 – a daily practice to silence your inner critic.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.

Laura Mariani Best Selling Author, Content Creator and Change & Transformation Expert

Hi there, I hope you enjoyed this post. Please do provide me with feedback.

I want to hear ‘the good, the bad and the ugly’. If you disagree with me or want to provide a different perspective, leave a comment. Tell me what’s on your mind.

Do remember though to be respectful and kind – we can agree to disagree, no need to be nasty. Thank you.


Laura xxx

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in my posts are ‘affiliate links‘. This means that if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission, for example as an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This is at no extra cost to you. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and absolutely would recommend to my readers.